H.265 HDR

• First of all, thank you a lot for this great plugin.

Now, to my question. I'm trying to create some H.265 files to use in calibrating my projector. Ideally, I'm trying to produce SDR and HDR versions of the file in 4:2:2 and 4:2:0 chroma subsampling.

The only color spaces available are BT.601 and 709. I'm no expert on this, but, I presume it should be possible to do 709 HDR, but in most discussions I've seen on detecting HDR people are checking BT.2020, that it's at least 10 bit, and the transfer function of something like PQ or HLG, and to select HDR in the normal HEVC exporter, you first have to select BT.2020.

So, is HDR a feature you've not implemented yet?

• As far as i know (and i am a programmer, not an encoding expert):

- bt.601 is used for SD

- bt.709 is used for HD

- bt.2020 is used for UHD

This color space / ranges topic is very complicated to me because i can't just tell premiere "Give me all pixel data in yuv422, 10bit and bt.2020". I am still not sure the current implementation for bt.601 and bt.709 works correct.

Maybe someone else has some theoretical insight in this.

Stay up-to-date and follow me on Twitter. Tell me your feedback.

Help to improve this plugin and support me on patreon. Thank you.

• bt.2020 is a wide colour gamut.

HDR metadata requires a transfer function like PQ or HDR10 which both use SMPTE ST 2084, or HLG (more complex, as it's per-scene), a bit depth of at least 10 bit and a colour space of bt.2020.

Maybe a short cut would be if you allowed us add our own encoder parameters?

• I have uncompressed pixel data as 16bit YUVA 4444 available. Can you tell me a ffmpeg command line to encode it the way you want it? This would help me to implement it.

Stay up-to-date and follow me on Twitter. Tell me your feedback.

Help to improve this plugin and support me on patreon. Thank you.

• I too am looking for HDR support for encoding videos in bt.2020 (HDR) format.